MINUTES THOMASTON BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL MEETING

Thomaston High School Auditorium Monday, December 11, 2017 6:55 p.m.

Members:

Rebecca Guay, Chairperson Beth Campbell, Vice Chairperson Heather Patchell, Secretary David Colavecchio, Treasurer Francine Coss, Superintendent Roxy Fainer Maureen McMahon Jennifer Nolan Scott Theriault Frank Treglia

Student Representatives:

Erin Fainer

Naime Gilani

Organization Meeting

1. Establishment of a Quorum and Call to Order

1.1.Superintendent Coss called the meeting to order at 6:59 p.m.

2. Organizational Meeting for the Purpose of Electing Officers

Bylaws of the Board 9120 – "The Board shall every two years, not later than one month after the date on which newly elected members take office, elect from its number a Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer. The new officers shall take office upon election. A record of the votes cast by individual members shall be minuted in accordance with statute...These officers shall hold office for a term of two (2) years."

A. Nominations for Board of Education Chairperson - Bylaw 9121 *Superintendent Coss* asked the Board to nominate a Board Chairperson.

Scott Theriault motioned and *Frank Treglia seconded* to nominate *Roxy Fainer* as *Board Chairperson.*

Superintendent Coss asked if there were any other nominations for Board Chairperson. There was none

Beth Campbell motioned and Maureen McMahon seconded to nominate **Rebecca** *Guay* as Board Chairperson.

Superintendent Coss asked if there were any other nominations for Board Chairperson.

Superintendent Coss asked the Board members to write the name of one (1) of the nominees on a card. The cards were collected and the count was read out load.

Discussion: None

Vote: Motion carried

Roxy Fainer	Rebecca Guay
4	5

Superintendent Coss announced that the Board of Education had a new Board Chairperson, and handed the meeting over to **Rebecca Guay, Chairperson**.

B. Nominations for Board of Education Vice Chairperson – Bylaw 9122
Chairperson Rebecca Guay asked the Board to nominate a Vice-Chairperson.
Jennifer Nolan motioned and Heather Patchell seconded to nominate Beth Campbell as Vice-Chairperson.

Chairperson Rebecca Guay asked the Board if there were any other nominations for *Vice-Chairperson. There was none.*

Discussion: None

Vote: Motion carried

Yes	No	Abstain
9	0	0

C. Nominations for Board of Education Secretary - Bylaw 9123

Chairperson Rebecca Guay asked the Board to nominate a Secretary. *Roxy Fainer nominated Scott Theriault and Scott Theriault* respectfully declined. *Beth Campbell motioned and Maureen McMahon seconded* to nominate *Heather Patchell.*

Chairperson Rebecca Guay asked the Board if there were any other nominations for *Secretary. There was none.*

Discussion: None

Vote: Motion carried

Yes	No	Abstain
9	0	0

D. Nominations for Board of Education Treasurer – Bylaw 9126 *Chairperson Rebecca Guay* asked the Board to nominate a Treasurer.

Beth Campbell motioned and Roxy Fainer seconded to nominate **David Colavecchio** *as Treasurer.*

Chairperson Rebecca Guay asked the Board if there were any other nominations for *Treasurer. There was none*

Discussion: None

Vote: Motion carried

Yes	No	Abstain
9	0	0

3. Committee Sign Up

4. Adjournment

Beth Campbell motioned and David Colavecchio seconded to adjourn the meeting at 7:08 p.m.

Discussion: None

Vote: Motion carried

Yes	No	Abstain
9	0	0